The Man on the Move
The Man on the Move
Late 80s Pageants & Palaver
1
0:00
-25:19

Late 80s Pageants & Palaver

ballerinas in the dark - nervous livestock - who killed the thunder - what went wrong - and why - Nashville gotta be better
1

In the late-80s I worked in Abilene Texas for Forte Lighting & Sound while attending ACU. I loved every second of it. I ran sound for most every live event in Abilene of any merit, and then I worked as a stagehand for shows with Stevie Ray Vaughn, KISS, Ratt, Reba, Barbara Mandrell, George Strait, The Amazing Kreskin, Phantom of the Opera, and the list goes on. With every name I type a hilarious story comes to mind.

In this podcast I revisit 3 calamities - 1987 Abilene Ballet’s Nutcracker, 1988 First Baptist Church of Abilene’s Christmas Pageant, and 1989 First Baptist Church of Dallas’ Easter Pageant. All 3 went wrong. Bad wrong. Three years, three debacles that crack me up to this day…

As my late mother-in-law, the ever so eloquent Joan Healey would say in her thick East-Midlands English accent, “what’s with all the palaver...”

Please listen on Apple Podcasts if you can and rate and review the show. As always, I like hearing from you at themanonthemove@protonmail.com - thoughts, ideas, feedback, or digital buffoonery…

Thanks for listening!

1 Comment
The Man on the Move
The Man on the Move
Looking at life through the lenses of financial counterculture, digital triangulation, and analog manliness. Talking about things I don't hear many people talking about...
Listen on
Substack App
Apple Podcasts
Spotify
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
Todd Robbins